Employees Dropdown
Schools Dropdown
Department Dropdown
Parents Dropdown
Students Dropdown
School Board Dropdown
Contact Dropdown
Global Navigation
Find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube Font Size:
Windsor High School
Smithfield High School
Georgie Tyler Middle School
Smithfield Middle School
Windsor Elementary School
Hardy Elementary School
Carrsville Elementary School
Westside Elementary School
Carrollton Elementary School
Home » School Board » Members


The Isle of Wight County School Board is composed of five members who are elected by county voting district. They are elected to four-year staggered terms in November, with service beginning on January 1 of the year following the election. The chairman and vice chairman are elected annually during the July organizational board meeting.


Mrs. Denise Tynes, Chair
Smithfield District


current term expires 12/31/15


Mrs. Denise Tynes was elected to the school board in November 2011. A graduate of Smithfield High School, she earned her Bachelor's Degree from Norfolk State University and her Master's Degree from Hampton University. Mrs. Tynes is also a member of the Smithfield Town Council and has served on numerous community boards and steering committees, including the Western Tidewater Community Service Board and Virginia Municipal League Legislative Committee.

As a former special education educator in Isle of Wight County, Mrs. Tynes is motivated to ensure all students have the best education possible. She believes a high school diploma is just the first phase in becoming a positive force in society. "Whether our students move forward to obtain a college degree, enter the workforce, enlist in the armed forces, or start a family; we need to instill in them how important it is to use their minds to obtain positive results," she stated.  "It is my desire that parents and educators will join hand in hand and stand side by side in unison when students look at us."


Mrs. Julia Perkins, Vice-Chair

Windsor District


current term expires 12/31/15

Ms. Julia Perkins, Vice Chair of the Isle of Wight County School Board

Mrs. Julia Perkins was elected to the school board in November 2011.  Mrs. Perkins holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Radford University and a Master of Arts degree in Teaching from UNC-Chapel Hill.  She retired in 2008 as Lead Teacher at Windsor High School where she was previously a science teacher, bus driver, coach, and athletic director.  She is also a former Chair of the Paul D. Camp Community College Board and currently serves as a member of the Isle of Wight County Social Services Board.

Mrs. Perkins’ focus as a board member is based on her “students first” philosophy.  She believes that instruction--teaching and learning, must always be the board’s top priority.  Her priorities are to promote policies and practices that put students first, specifically  those that: 1) target achievement gaps among student sub-groups and promote the achievement of all students,  2) concentrate on maintaining high standards and providing a rigorous curriculum, and 3) focus on hiring, growing, and retaining high quality teachers.



Mr. Ed Easter 
Newport District 


current term expires 12/31/15

IWCS Board Member Ed Easter

Mr. Ed Easter was appointed to the school board in March 2015. He taught advanced physics and calculus at Kecoughtan High School in Hampton City Public Schools for five years, before starting a 40-year career in the private sector.

He is well known in the Isle of Wight Community and previously served on the county's Board of Equalization. His goal is to show the true value of this school division.



Mr. Robert Eley

Carrsville District


current term expires 12/31/17

Mr. Robert Eley, Chairman of the Isle of Wight County School Board








Mr. Robert Eley was re-elected to the school board in November 2013. Mr. Eley is a lifelong resident of Isle of Wight County, a Windsor High School graduate, and former president of the Windsor Youth Foundation.  He lists the economic future of the schools and the quality of education provided to students as his priorities.



Mr. Alvin Wilson

Hardy District


current term expires 12/31/15

IWCS Board Member Alvin Wilson

Mr. Alvin Wilson was voted to serve on the school board in January 2015. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology from Virginia Union University; and both a Master of Science (M.S.) in Biology and a Master of Education (M. Ed.) in Educational Administration and Supervision from Virginia State College (now University). Having served in education for over 40 years, Mr. Wilson is now retired from his tenure in Virginia and North Carolina.  Mr. Wilson is owner and proprietor of Alvin and Son's Barber Shop located in Smithfield, Va and serves on the Board of Trustees at Emmanuel Baptist Church. He also served as past chairman and is a current member of the Isle of Wight County Board of Zoning and Appeals.

As an Isle of Wight County native and graduate of Isle of Wight County Schools, Mr. Wilson understands how the success of the public school system impacts the surrounding community. With 45-years of business experience in addition to his educational experience, he recognizes that schools require the support of the business community as well as active involvement from parents and fellow citizens. He firmly believes in the value of education for all students and desires to see the continuation of excellence within this school division.