Isle of Wight County Schools

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
| Login


The Isle of Wight County School Board is composed of five members who are elected by county voting district. They are elected to four-year staggered terms in November, with service beginning on January 1 of the year following the election. The chairman and vice chairman are elected annually during the January organizational board meeting. The School Board members are Jacqueline W. Carr (Carrsville); Vicky Hulick (Newport); Julia Perkins (Windsor); Denise Tynes (Smithfield) and Alvin Wilson (Hardy).
 The official duties of the School Board include:
  • Adopting policies for the school division
  • Adopting long-rage goals and objectives for the school division
  • Selecting the superintendent
  • Overseeing the construction and maintenance operations for the school division
  • Approving the budget, awarding contracts, determining salaries, and overseeing efficient operation of school division
  • Approving the annual school calendar and school operating times
  • Determining school boundaries